Worldwide Spin in Public Day at Saltaire Festival

The lovely streets here in Saltaire are bunting and banner coated and there is that buzz in the air that begins to descend during the Festival. On Saturday a great time was had at the Maker’s Fair Festival Special and on Sunday I treated myself to tickets for the award-winning Orkney folk band The Chair at Victoria Hall and had a foot-stomping time. I used to play the fiddle myself don’t you know, until someone about six doors down once told me he thought I was “getting much better now”.

The crafty goodness is set to continue for the upcoming finale weekend and not least because the 15th just so happens to be Worldwide Spinning in Public Day. Saltaire Handmade who are running a craft fair at the Caroline Street Social Club have kindly given me a spot and I’ll be there with Morag (my Haldane Hebridean spinning wheel) as well as a bunch of spindles and plenty of different fleeces, so if you’ve ever fancied having a go at spinning or are just curious to see how it’s done, do make sure you pop by and say hello. Local artist David Starley will also be doing demos, and two of my fave local designer makers will also be there, Quernus Crafts and Inkylinky. Flag crackin’ sunshine is forecast – it’s going to a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

