Flower Proddy Brooches

Not the best piccie and for that I apologise – it is too cold to go outside for better light; but at least these flowers are faring better than my seedlings caught in the late snow last week. These proddy brooches are made from some stunning quality scarves that recently came my way and some lush woollen blankets from my stash. I raided my grandmother’s old button tin for the centres.

The clips are around 3 cm long and 3/4 an inch wide and cut to shape. The photograph below shows one of the brooches just about to be cut from the hessian backing. I hem the circle and draw a  ‘bullseye’ to guide the clips. I recently got my own bodger (Brown’s ?) and although it was in a sorry way, after a few taps with a hammer, a bit of WD40 and some sandpaper and elbow grease it was in tip-top condition again. I’m not normally a fan of using a bodger, I much prefer to work proddy mats the traditional way from the back; although I got used to it in the end, I don’t think I would use it for larger projects.

The bodger was from ebay and in amongst the job lot of rug making stuff was also a brass hook; the shank was stamped “RY BELL” and I was thrilled to realise it was one of the hooks made by John William Bell who was born in 1882 in Sunderland and who is mentioned in “From Rags to Riches: North Country Rag Rugs” written by the senior keeper at Beamish Open Air Museum, Rosemary Allan. Presumably the RY refers to the Ryhope Colliery where he worked as a blacksmith. I was ever so slightly thrilled!

As well as these vases of brooches there’s also a basket full of them. I just need to do some labels and they will be ready for the Arts Trail.

2 thoughts on “Flower Proddy Brooches

  1. Love the site. Have just completed my first rug which I started on a whim and now I am as hooked as the rug is! Used to help my Grandma make these as a necessity not just for fun, and am using her bodger which must be over 100 years old now. The rug is destined for my grandaughter but now other family members want one. Looks like I am going to be busy !

  2. very addictive isn’t it! And how fabulous to have your grandmother’s bodger; I’m very envious! I love that you are using it to make a rug for your granddaughter – crossing five generations of women – amazing!

Leave a Reply

