Rag Rug Frame and Trestles

February 26, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve been burning the midnight oil to get ready in time for the Saltaire Arts Trail in May but when my cousin invited me to stay for a few days I couldn’t resist and not just for a break. I’ve been asked by the Arts Trail to bring along my kit and get a bit of a demonstration going; all well and good, except my frame rests on a desk and a bookcase – I knew I needed to get my mitts on some rug making trestles – not actually a terribly easily thing to do. My cousin used to teach woodwork and I thought as he is currently building a boat (as you do) I might peer over his shoulder and pick up a few tips that could help me build some trestles myself. Divine intervention was clearly at play; the week  before my cousin had ordered some wood to make shutters but had written the wrong measurements on the order for the timber yard and had loads left over. Not only did  he make me a fabulous pair of trestles, he also made me a much larger frame. I had a rough idea of what I wanted having made some quick sketches of a pair in use at the Knitting and Stitching Show last year in Harrogate. My cousin made the trestles collapsible so they are easier for me to transport. I feel like a very, very lucky girl!

I was invited down because a quantity of fabric had come their way and they thought I might make some use of it – I ended up taking almost the lot and there is some cracking stuff amongst it all. It should keep me going for some time. Except I do now need to think about where I am going to store it. I am starting to think living rooms are entirely over-rated. As for kitchens, do we really need them?

As if any more of a sign was needed that I was on the right rug making path, my cousin’s wife and I took the dog for a walk and on the canal side we came across a  rag rug left by one of the barges – all a bit of a coincidence!

When we got back my cousin had popped to see a neighbour and ended up telling him what we were up to and came back with this fantastic pamphlet printed in 1942 given to him for me. It is packed with some really useful tips and ideas. Apparantly if I wanted the perfect hooking tool, I need only take my poker to my local blacksmith and he will fashion it for me. Alrighty then. Will do.

Such a fabulous time  – and on top of all that rag-rugging goodness I got to enjoy the company of my lovely family, glorious weather, gut-wrenchingly fabulous countryside, and astounding cooking. Can’t be bad. Well, I still have some unpacking to do and had better get on with it.

Oh, and in the meantime, if you want to check out the websites of some of the other artists and makers who will be at the Saltaire Arts Trail, do have a look at Jo Whitehead’s blog. I have a bit of a weak spot for her fused glass!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rag Rug Frame and Trestles at Dizzie B Hooked.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

